Weekly Report & Reflection Post #5

This week the focus was on Microblogging, also known as Personal Learning Network, and how we can utilize Twitter. Kate Klingensmith, another fellow blogger, defines Personal Learning Network as an “the entire collection of people with whom you engage and exchange information, usually online.” Kathleen Morris, an education blogger, describes Twitter as “a social networking and microblogging service that allows you to send out short messages called tweets. Tweets are limited to 140 characters but can also contain media like photos or videos.”

Twitter
http://i.huffpost.com/gen/1239641/thumbs/o-TWITTER-facebook.jpg

Personally, what I like about Twitter is that, like most other social networking services, it is easily accessible on my laptop, iPhone and iPad. It’s a great tool, because not only can it be used to reconnect with people but it can be used to connect with like minded people for personal and professional development. Morris continues to say “I find Twitter to be like a virtual staffroom where I can catch up with my PLN. It is a place where I can find advice, give advice, find great links, share my work and engage in general musings about education.”

I, myself, use Twitter and find it to be a great way to express my thoughts and connect with people who share the same interests as I do. But, my Twitter account is more of a personal outlet than an educational tool.

Digital literacy is a very significant aspect of attaining a digital citizenship because it allows you to attain knowledge on digital literacy issues, examples of inappropriate/appropriate digital literacy and understand the digital literacy keywords (Ribble, 2011, p. 27).

Leave a Reply

